PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of Covid-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in-person, via telephone, or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.
Know Your Auto Insurance Policy
It is a generally understood fact that we need car insurance in order to protect ourselves and others in case of an accident. But what does this really mean? Often, many of us don’t look at our insurance policies until after an accident occurs. Don’t let inadequate insurance policies catch you by surprise. It is important to know the state requirements as well as personal preference when it comes to auto coverage. Make sure you know your insurance policy before driving.
Our car accident attorneys can help inform you of your legal rights. If you were involved in a car accident, contact us today!
We seek maximum compensation for people throughout Texas and the nation, including the cities of Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, Austin, Laredo and Corpus Christi.
Insurance Coverage In Texas
Texas law requires that all drivers be insured. Drivers are financially responsible for paying for any damages or injuries to other parties in an accident if it was their fault. In order to fulfill this obligation, many buy liability insurance. Drivers must carry at least this much liability coverage:
- $30,000 in bodily injury per individual
- $60,000 per accident (total of all injuries)
- $25,000 for property damage
These are the statutory minimums. Many drivers carry higher liability coverage. While only liability insurance is mandatory, there are other coverages you may want to have.
Examples of other types of coverages include:
- Collision — damage to your vehicle from a crash
- Comprehensive — non-collision damage (hail, fire, vandalism, deer, etc.)
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM)
- Towing and labor
- Full coverage — a policy covering all of the above
While it is not mandatory, uninsured/underinsured driver is important protection. The policy pays the difference if you are injured by a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance. Otherwise you would bear those losses.
In Texas, it is illegal to drive without liability insurance. If you are caught doing so, you can be fined between $75-$350 the first time, and up to $1,000 for any additional citations. You can also, potentially, have your driver’s license suspended.
Don’t Get Blindsided By Accident Insurance
It is important to know what insurance policy you have before you drive, in case you do get in a car accident. Our car accident lawyers have dealt with major collisions. Our lawyers have experience handling car accidents and can help you! Contact us today for a free consultation.